Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Aug 29, 2004, 10:50 PM   #1

i am new to filters and a friend had lent me a few..

i noticed on the back of this hoya uv (0) filter that it has some retaining ring to hold in the glass into the ring. there is a bit of play in this and the glass isn't 100% percent secure within the ring.... is this normal? its nowhere close to the point of falling apart but is this a general characteristic of hoya filters?

there is also a very very small faint scratch that i cannot seem to wipe off the surface of the filter. i tried to capture it in the picture, but appearently, it didn't show up.. again its really really faint... would something like this affect my picture if it were mounted infront of a lens?

how large of a scratch/dirt/dust would there have to be to affect the final picture?

here is another pic...... again, i can't see it here.......

trueno92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 30, 2004, 10:07 AM   #2

Retaining rings do sometimes come loose with use. It can be fixed at a good photography store, or you can gently snug it up.

Of course anything on the filter itself can show up in photos...maybe if the light hits at a certain angle the scratch will appear in the picture; the main reason for a protective filter like the UV is for *IT* to take the damage while your camera lens remains unharmed.
Mikefellh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2004, 6:33 AM   #3

I would not worry about the filter rattling in its holder. I have several that do just that..and it does not effect the photo at all.

As for scratches on the filter. You generally will not see them on your photo. However, if the scratch is severe enough, it will bend the light, and you will notice the image appearing in your photos.