Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Oct 3, 2002, 6:07 PM   #1
Default 8 mm film to CD transfer

I have over 15000 ft of 8mm and super 8mm sound and silent.....how do i get this put onto a cd format, without going through the vhs routine..Hve used 3 different video cameras, and a rear projection screen set up, but still get a flicker in the copy Thanks for any useful info on this subject. John Young.
John Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 5, 2002, 10:17 AM   #2

Hmmmm. I'm not an expert in this area by any means, but I have experimented quite a bit with a Sony Digital8 camera that I bought a few months ago.

If you can get someone to transfer your 8mm footage to Digital8 format, you can easily make DVD's from that. I use Adobe Premier and an HP DVD drive in my desktop computer. You can use much cheaper software that Premier - in fact, the HP drive (about $450) came with one that worked very well.

The real trick will be finding someone that can get it onto Digital8 for you. In fact, the shop that does that may also be able to burn the stuff right to DVD for you. A quick search on Google found the following companies that can do it:

The first one has a price estimator on the page, and the second one had a proce listed of $24.95. I'm sure there are alot more, it'll just take some Googling

Hope that helps!

norm911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2002, 6:46 PM   #3

I have some old film from the 50s 60s and 70s myself. (I'm not actually in any of them until the 60s) Many places claim to be the best at transferring them to digital but I have not done enough research to see who is the best. There are cheap ways to do it and you get a cheap looking digital copy.

I had this link in my favorites from a while back when I was looking into it. It helps explain some of the mystery, but I don't know the site well enough to endorse it.