Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Oct 17, 2004, 6:42 AM   #1

I saw a documentary of Paparazzi on cable TV (one stalking the Douglas-Zeta Jones) a few days ago and was blown away at the resolution of his camera. He zoomed so close at the photo with a Mac PC and it was still so detailed and hasn't blurred.

1. What is the typical digital camera does a Paparazzi use these days?

2. I could not find any reasonable information about SLR cameras. Besides they use mirrors to capture images by reflection - what is the real advantage of this camera type compared to standard feature cameras?

3. If my answer hasn't been answered above, how do they capture fast action photos? Something like a speeding car, what digital camera could capture a fast racing car without blurring?

Sorry to ask so many questions -I am new to advanced digital photography and the information on Google isn't that effective

heatwave69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 17, 2004, 10:30 AM   #2

My answer to 1 is a guess, my answer to 2 & 3 are not.

1) This is a difficult question. I believe that most paparazzi own their own equipment. They are free-lancers. This means that they can't always afford the expensive cameras, but they can't have the cheap ones (because of what they do.) So while they might want the highest resolution cameras (a Canon 1Ds or the latest 1Ds MkII) they are 8K, and cost a lot to issure. My guess is that they would instead go with a Canon 1D or 1D MkII. That gives them very fast shutter speed, fast buffer writing and great AF performance.