Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Oct 19, 2004, 10:44 PM   #1

I'm considering a number of digicams and most of them start at a focal length of 35mm. I'm fairly new to photography, but did have an instant recently where I couldn't back up far enough with my Canon S30 to get everyone into a group photo.

I'm wondering if this is something people encounter regularly or it's unusual.

I'm planning on upgrading my S30, because I want a longer zoom, but I'm wondering if 35 mm will be short enough for me. If not, then I might have to go D-SLR which will allow multiple lenses. I prefer NOT to spend that much money as a D-SLR with additional lenses will end up being significantly more than a prosumer digicam.

The Panasonic FZ-20 appeals to me, but it's not priced well in Canada. It lists for $600 US, but $900 Cdn. Whereas the Coolpix 8800 goes for roughly $1,000 US, but only $1,150 Cdn. So although there's a pretty significantly difference of $400 USD for those living in the US, it's only a $250 Cdn price difference up here. Pretty tempting to go for the 8800.

Allan Lim is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 19, 2004, 11:22 PM   #2

There are some digitals which will take a wide angle (or telephoto)auxillary lens, you might want to look into them. I have always liked a 28 mm in the 35 cameras and could not find anything in my size/price range with that. I ended up with a Kodak DX7740 which has a 33~132 lens and got both tele and wa lenses for it. The wa is a .6x which works out to anequiv of a tad less than 20 mm on the wide side and works well throughout the zoom range of the lens. Some distortion exists but it is no a big deal in any practical sense unless taking pics of things with lots of hard angles and verticals. The tele is a 2x and is limited tomax zoom or a bit less, at any lesser setting there is serious vignetting. I'm well satisfied with the camera and the lenses.