Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Oct 29, 2004, 1:12 PM   #1

Fellow digital photographers -

I will be in NYC for a business trip and I have put aside two nights to take photos. Can anyone make any recommendations on good vantage points in which to shoot the city? I know the standards, i.e. the top of the Empire State Building, Time Square, Etc, but what I am really looking for are vantage points that offer unique views of the skyline, and NYC attractions that newcomers would not know about. These photos are for my personal use, as I am an amateur. Any recommendations, advice, or even books you might know of would be appreciated.

Attached Images
sosations is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 29, 2004, 1:46 PM   #2

As a native New Yorker who has photographed from every concievable location in NYC (well, it sure feels that way), the best palces to get photos of the Manhattan skyline are not in Manhattan.

I suggest that you visit Brooklyn - go to Brooklyn Heights via subway and walk west towards the east river. There is a park that runs about 15 blocks along the river called the Brooklyn Promenade. It is located directly over the Brooklyn Queens Expressway. This is a sensational location to shoot from.

Then, walk north to the Brooklyn Bridge. TheBrooklyn Bridge is thesouthern most of the3 that cross the river from Brooklyn to Manhattan. The southern most is the most famous Brooklyn Bridge, then comes the Manhattan and then the Williamsburgh from South to North.

There is a wonderful little park called Fulton's Landing just under the Brooklyn Bridge (just south of the Bridge) that gives you some terrific vistas with the bridge.

Then walk north under the bridge and walk to the water's edge on the North side of the Bridge. This is one of the most famous images of the NY skyline with the bridge in the picture. Before 9/11 it was the iconic shot of the twin towers behind the bridge.