Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jan 3, 2005, 3:05 PM   #1

I purchased a couple of digital cameras for Christmas gifts but it was not as easy as I had hoped it would be. I am new to digital photography, I just purchased a digital camera for my self around Thanksgiving. Prior to that I have not bought a camera for at least 10 years. I bought my digital camera at a local camera shop and found out later I paid top dollar for it. I did no research at all. However, I did receive excellent service and a person to show me how to use the camera.

Ok, next time I will look around for a better price. For Christmas presents I figured I would shop around online and check prices in the many photography magazines. I found some excellent prices at royalcamera.com and amphotoworld.com. I picked out a camera and ordered it from amphotoworld.com and a few hours later I received an e-mail requesting I call to verify the order. I order stuff all the time from many different websites and never received a mesage like this. I called A&M and some guy tried to sell me high powered batteries telling me the rechargable battery that comes with it is a low powered battery...the camera takes AA's and does not come with a recgargeable battery anyway (Nikon Coolpix 4100). Then he tried to sell me an extended warranty, I told him I'll just take the manufactures warranty. Then he told me it only comes with a 90 day international warranty and that it's a gray market camera. A gray market camera? He explained that it must be imported from an overseas depot and it will take 4 to 6 weeks to arrive. I then just cancelled my order. What a waste of time.

I ordered the Coolpix from B&H. Cost $40 more, but no BS about batteries, warranties, gray markets, overseas depots, importing orverification calls. The USA camera arrived with a USA warranty by UPS 3 day shipping.