Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jan 11, 2005, 12:44 PM   #1

you always see photos in magazines and even here in the photo of the day, and they are always taken on huge fantastic slr's. i have a little 3mp casio with 3x optical zoom. i know that to an extent, its the photographer and not the camera that takes good photos, but can fantastic photos be gotten on theese small cameras ( within limits of zoom )? what im really asking is to what extent is a top class photo the doing of the photographer, or how much does the camera weigh in on the end result?
schmintan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 11, 2005, 2:26 PM   #2

Well, I'm far from a pro, but I would say this:

Your camera has to be able to capture the light fairly accurately (which some small cameras can't, but most can) and has to have manual controls, including shutter speed and iris (because if the camera's relatively puny brain gets it wrong, you have to have manual control to get it right). Yes, better glass means better sharpness in general, and "bigger" cameras have great advantages (generally less noise, more lens flexibility, etc). And there are some things your small cam won't do -- it won't be able to take sharpzoom pictures from the indy 500 from across the track. It probably won't be able to take macroshots at a 1:1 ratio, filling the frame with a gnat. So, if you want to win POTD by taking a picture of a swan taking flight from 300 yards away in the early morning, that's probably not going to happen.