Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Feb 25, 2003, 8:57 PM   #1

Default Clarification on Resolution between 2MP and 3MP

I would be grateful if someone could clear my doubt on the resolution. Take for instance two cameras of 2 megapixel and 3 megapixel from the same manufacturer. The 3 megapixel camera can be used to take a 2 megapixel picture. Now, will that picture be more clear (with more details) compared to the picture taken by the 2 megapixel camera. Or, the 3 MP picture is only meant to take a bigger print out. If there is difference in clarity, that means if we use a 5 MP or 6 MP camera and take a 2 MP picture, it will be much more clear compared to the one taken with the 2 MP camera. Those who have used different cameras may be able to give their expert views based on their experience. Thanks.
Mathew is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 26, 2003, 12:21 AM   #2

Though I am relatively new to digital cameras and have yet to purchase one, 2 megapixels means 2 megapixels regardless the camera. In other words, the pictures will be the same since the same number of pixels is being used. 3mp merely gives you the ability to take a larger picture of something. Think of it like this, if you have 2 17 inch computer monitors and both are set to 1024 by 768 pixels, regardless if one can be set to 1600 by 1200 pixels and the other can only be set to 1024 by 768, the image displayed by both is the same. Granted some 2 megapixel cameras have better and clearer images than others, but that has to do with the quality of the sensor, lense and other factors, not being 2mp.
ardvark50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2003, 3:51 AM   #3