Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Mar 7, 2006, 6:59 PM   #1

Which lens gives a good bokeh ? I am wanting a decent lens to possibly go along with a new 20d I am thinking about getting. I am looking to take decent action pictures ...drag racing, rodeo, sports events,. I want to be able to blurr the background as seen in alot of the action pictures posted here. I am looking for a lens also for portraits at home ( 50mm f/2.8 ) . I am having a hard time deciding. As you can see I am a newbie but wodering what actually causes the nice bokeh I see in alot of the pictures that totally make me say... hey I want to be able to do these type pitures.

PS : I still got the Nikon d50 on my mind also with a good 80-200 f/2.8 lens. I am willing to spend around $1,000 if I go with the Nikon deal.

sc_radar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 7, 2006, 7:15 PM   #2

Bokeh is strictly a subjective measurement. Bokeh refers to the quality of the out of focus area, specifically highlights and how well the subjet transitions from the background. Ask 10 experts about bokeh and you will get 10 different answers.

The larger the aperature, and the more distance you can put between the subject and the background, the greater the blurring effect. If you're in bright sunlight or can control the lighting, you will be able to choose larger aperatures and achieve greater subject to background seperation. All lenses are capable of giving a sharp subject over a blurred background.

Don't worry about bokeh...it's subjective, and you'll likely not be able to notice good or bad bokeh anyway.
rjseeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2006, 6:39 AM   #3

Just to add a little to rjseeney's exlplanation: