Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Apr 10, 2006, 2:17 PM   #1

I have been shooting Digital Photography now for several years. To help become even a better photographer, I took a pro photography class at the college. The requirements of this class is that you m MUST have a 35mm film camera and process your own black and white prints. I purchaseda usedCanon Elan 7NE andIlford Filters, Developer, Print paper, etc.

However, I found I strongly do not like shooting or processing film. Dodge and Burn in a dark room to me is a joke compared to Photoshop CS2 and my Wacom. Many are saying to become a better Digital Photographer you have to learn the basics which mean shooting and processing film? Is this true?

I don't get it... I need help from others who are pure Digital photographers. or from those who have transitioned from film to digital.

I currently shoot with a Digital Rebal which I am quite happy with but will upgrade to a Canon 5D soon. My primary insterests is shooting model portfolio's which almost always require editing in Photoshop. I am not against scanning film if it gives noticably better quality over 16 bit RAW processed Digitals. I also use Alien Bees Studio strobes and love looking at the photos and histogramto get my lights correct. I feel uncomfotable shooting studio with film and relying 100% on meter to set ratios.

Attached Images
minutephotos.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 10, 2006, 8:51 PM   #2