Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Apr 21, 2006, 12:06 PM   #1

When taking photos of Little League, Soccer, etc events, do you need a release?

Can you just take the photos and pass out your cards w/website for parents to go online and order?

Any help in this area is very much appreciated.

stlphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 21, 2006, 12:27 PM   #2

I am not a lawyer. If you really want to treat this as a business, you would talk to a lawyer. Advice from me will not stand up in court, and that is where you might end up.

My guess is that you are on the very edge of needing it.
One of the problems is that the photos on your web site will also act like advertising for your skills. And you absolutely need a release to do that. You could try to argue that you're not doing that, but unless you protect those photos from being seen by others, then to some extent they are advertising your skills to other web site viewers.

You clearly have no right to sell the images to anyone other than the parents of the child. If you did, without a release, that would be quite bad as well.

The league might also have some rules that govern photos and the selling of them. Of course, if they are using public sports fields, they might not be able to do that.

eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2006, 12:48 PM   #3

I do believe you are walking a thin line. Just as the above post, I am not a lawyer but I've been looking into this as well. From what I gather, if you are just taking photos of the game, then you are ok. If however you are making a certain child the focus of the photo, then you could be in a bit of trouble.

My wife spends a lot of time on the MPIX forum and they have a lot of good information about the business side of photography. Maybe you could take a look there. http://www.mpix.com

Better yet, you could contact a local lawyer for legal advise.

headhunter66 is offline   Reply With Quote