Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Apr 23, 2006, 9:44 AM   #1

I am a newbie in color management. How to get the color match from what I see on the monitor screen to the print out. Do I need to have monitor and printer profiles ?
If I have my profile, how to have soft-proofing in photoshop ?
EricB is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 23, 2006, 2:32 PM   #2

I have CS2, and it has soft-proofing built in. I hope this info works for whatever verison of photoshop you have.

You absolutely need a printer profile. Having a monitor profile will help lots, but isn't required. If you're monitor is already setup close to what is "right" you could be ok.

This is one of the reasons I got an Epson 4000. It comes with a good number of high quality printer profiles. All the "professional" grade epson printer do... and a good number of after-market paper makes provide profiles for many Epson printers.

Once you have these things, you need to look under the... "view" menu (I think that is the name) and the absolute first thing on the manu is soft proof... and it lets you pick the printer and paper you'll use.

Then press control-y, and that enables the soft proofing and shows you what it will look like. There is also a setting where it shows you colors in your image that are unreproduceable with your printer/paper choice - called "out of gambit warning". For example, matte papers have less dynamic range, and therefor I have some prints which can't be reproduced on matte paper, but can be printed on glossy paper (which has a wider dynamic range.)

And you're done.

I'm quite sure the PS manual will tell you all that and more.

eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2006, 9:42 AM   #3