Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Apr 26, 2006, 9:04 AM   #1

Hey folks great site here and very encouraging community. Good to see.

Anyway I'm an amatuer photographer, furniture designer by profession

I'm well used to filmSLR's but have decided to make the leap to digital and have pretty much decided on the olympus SP-350. I've decided a digital SLR is economicaly unviable considering my level of dedication. I live a busy life.

I knowa little aboutdigital photography, i know normal 35mm film is equivalent to about 20MP.

SO, what i would like to know is what size can the SP-350's 8MP photos be printed at witout loosing qualitiy and what size can they be printed at where the quality is lost but still acceptable.

Your input will be greatly apppreciated.

ianwill1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 26, 2006, 11:10 AM   #2

The best tests comparing film and digital that I have encountered kept the film completely in the chemical process and compared prints. Their conclusion was that the best ASA100 consumer color film was about equal to 6Mp. Professional slide film like Provia gave the equivalent of about 11Mp. Those megapixel ratings were from DSLR cameras with quality lenses.

Film gives better dynamic range and consumer film gives a much larger exposure latitude. The tests were just for resolution. I have seen other tests that converted film and slides to digital on professional scanners that came up with even lower Mp numbers for film. But I think a fair comparison keeps film completely in the chemical/optical process all the way to the print.

Resolution tests on cameras with small sensors like the SP350 show resolution generally equivalent to DSLRs. Where they aren't as good is in dynamic range and noise. If you are familiar with 35mm printing I think you would find that images from the 8Mp Oly would print to around the same size as with good consumer ASA100 film.