Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old May 1, 2006, 6:12 PM   #1

I have a Sony F717 (5 megapixs)and just got a Sony R-1 (10 megapixs) and have some photos taken with a Nikon D-70 (6 megapixs). Using Photo Elements 3.0 when I read the meta data (exif?) the resolution for the F717 and R-1 is 72.00, but for the D-70 the resolution is 300.00! All three were set at their highest pixel rating and quality (fine). I would think that the R-1 with 10 mega pixels would have a higher resolution? I am a newbie to digicams and must be missing something here.

cessna is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 1, 2006, 11:11 PM   #2

Hey, Charlie, this one bugs a lot of people. It seems that cameras from different manufacturers open in editors at different resolutions. The resolution numbers are just EXIF data until you output the image to a printer.

If you look at the scale bordering the open image you will see that the images that open up at 72ppi have huge figures displayed. That's telling you that if that image was printed at 72ppi, the print would be gigantic. The scale numbers for the 300ppi images will be a lot smaller.

If you normally print at 300ppi, just go to Image>Image Size and change the resolution figure on the 72ppi images to 300ppi (make sure that the "Resample Image" box is not checked) and you will see the scale change to show what dimensions the image would print to at 300ppi. Same with 240ppi, or whatever resolution you like to send to your printer. The above instructions work with Photoshop, and I'm just assuming that this works the same way with Elements 3.

So, you have all the resolution that you paid for with each camera, it's just a matter of how the manufacturer sets the defaults. My Nikon opens at 300ppi and my uncle's Fuji opens at 72!

granthagen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2006, 8:06 AM   #3