Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old May 15, 2003, 9:21 AM   #1
Default film as digital evolves

I have some photographic experience, still a newbie, and have only a consumber digicam....waiting for for a DSLR that is cheap and great....the new canon has my interest peaked, but the gripes about quality control concern me.....but anyway

Ok...so with each new improvement in these digital SLRs and such, I feel compeled to re-ask the question:
So how does digital compare to film *now*?

A person can buy a great $400 dollar film camera (or less) that can take pictures that are virtually indistinguishable from anything from a pro setup (so long as the glass is equal).

How does, say, the Canon 10D compare to that same $400 Elan? Is there still something about the CCD/CMOS that still can't quite eek out that final bit of film-like quality? Is there a film quality that digital still can't match? Can only the fully profession DSLR meet the level of film? ...and finally, just how hard is it to tell a digital picture (from the 10D) and a good film setup?

The convenience of digital is without debate, but let's talk straight "quality of image" here.
kelt36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 15, 2003, 12:21 PM   #2

I was told 35mm is about the same as 8-10mp, I've never verified this.

I think DSLRs will be less noisy then normal digicams and of course they are more flexible.

Having said all that most of the good pics I see are from normal digicams and seem (on the face of it) capable of producing images which are as good as DSLRs - wait for the backlash.
steve6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2003, 2:52 PM   #3

Many people ask that question. Digital is always getting closer... and I feel will truly replace it in the near future (with a situational definition of "near".)