Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Aug 30, 2006, 10:35 PM   #1

Hey all, I have recently began to adjust my images in photoshop after taking them, something making major changes. So I was wondering, do you all consider it okay to show off these images (or sell them) without stating they have been edited? Obviously if someone asked I would tell them it was edited, but say as a nature photographer, I hosted a picture like this on an online gallery, do you think thats okay?

Attached Images
Morag2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 30, 2006, 10:36 PM   #2

Attached Images
Morag2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2006, 11:34 PM   #3

There is nothing wrong with editing an image to improve exposure, color, brightness, contrast, and the like. There is no need to say that the images have been edited. In fact if you shoot in JPEG mode all digital images have been edited by preset parameters in the camera. I wouldn't worry about it.
nelmr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2006, 1:11 AM   #4

I agree... I used to have issues with this very point as well, but nelmr is right. There is no such thing as a pure image, and there is no point in sanctifying the camera's interpretation over your own. Both are just interpretations.

I think that in the end one has to decide with oneself why he is taking the picture and by what criterion it is to be judged. Is he trying to reproduce exactly what he saw? Is he trying to make the most beautiful image that he can? Is he trying to 'capture the moment'? Is he trying to convey a message? With that in mind, both camera and editor are just means to an end.

- Bpp
Ballpointpenner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2006, 6:53 AM   #5