Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Hybrid Still/Movie/MP3 Digicams

Old Jan 4, 2008, 12:59 AM   #1

I'm curious about something. In the context of my question, there seem to be two main types of people who use cameras.

One group is into cameras themselves, and don't have any special (or any) use for the images they take. Some, I gather, don't even use the cameras. For the other group, the cameras are tools used to capture images that have definite purposes.

I'm one of the latter. I've been using hybrids for a few years now. When I first heard of them, my immediate thought was that I'd be able to create home movies of our family and activities. It took me a couple of years to put all the pieces together to do that, but now I've created almost 80 movies, ranging in length up to over an hour. I've also used stills and movie clips for a range of other purposes, and even made a bit of money on them. Increasingly those movies are finding a wider audience among our friends, who typically now get a copy of the movie of any trip we were on with them. These movies are used for entertainment at gatherings, and are getting copied and sent to parents in Europe and stuff like that.

My impression from this forum is that most hybrid owners are mostly into the cameras themselves. Beyond using stills and video clips for comparing the cameras, I don't hear much about people using their images beyond storing away memories. There's not much talk about processing or public displays of the stills and clips being taken.

I see people buying 10megapixel $1000 dsc's and even fancier dslr's who know about and seek out the most minute aspects of image quality, but then seem to never use those images for anything. Not to mention the fantastic amount of camcorder footage taken, reviewed and never watched again. Others buy cheapo cameras and use the p__s out of them.