Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Hybrid Still/Movie/MP3 Digicams

Old Sep 20, 2009, 9:34 AM   #1
Default Hate to ask - which camera do I need?

I know, a couple of years ago I'd likely have been the one answering such a question but all the models I was familiar with are no longer made.

I've been using a Sanyo CG6 for 2 years now and have been happy with it. But it has two problems. 1) It can't be used on a tripod very well. And more and more I've been needing it on a tripod. 2) It has no Mic jack and so it is hard to use a wireless mic because I have to record it on a separate device.

So.. I decided to go look at the store. I figured I'd look for a device in a more traditional shaped camcorder. That way I'd be sure to have a device that sits well on a tripod. Unfortunately, all of the ones I saw so far had less than 1 MP on the still shot. I don't need a whole lot, but I'd say 2 MP is bare-minimum. And it needs to have some nice features on the still shot like manual white balance.

The other thing is I absolutely DO NOT want one that records in NTSC because I don't want to deal with interlacing.

And lastly.. I need something with a global shutter, which rules out the vast majority of CMOS based cameras. I need a CCD.. Oh and that CCD needs to have good light pickup.

The troubble is, the only ones I have found so far are High-Def cameras and they seem to be in the $500 or more range. I don't need HD, and I need to be in the $300 range..
adric22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 20, 2009, 10:46 AM   #2

As you have just found, those requirements basically rule out every mainstream camcorder/Digital Camera in that price range!

Why do you want a non CMOS camcorder. Do you find the CMOS wobble that troubling or is there a specific application you have it mind where it really would be a problem?