Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Misc Forums > Image & Film Scanners

Old Dec 1, 2006, 6:14 AM   #1

Hi guys,

I know that people have been asking about this but there were no reviews for it. I couldn't find any reviews for it myself but I needed one so I went out an bought I liked the idea of scanning my slides and having something for prints. Anyway here's the dirty..

The good:
It does a good job of prints and the scan to pdf is ok. I am not a professional photographer... I work in IT with a bit of graphics experience. I am not expecting perfection. Scans look ok at 300dpi nothing remarkable.

The bad:
The canon slide scanning driver doesn't work I get error 18,0,0. I've re-installed several times. But still this issue. It's compalins about lack of memory I have win2ksp4 1G, athlon 3000, and shed loads of disk. I check the free memory - 700Mb. so basically the canon drivers haven't been tested. Even the latest one Oct 2006.

So can't use FARE! and can't scan multiple slides. What a heap of dodo.

I can scan with silver fast but the scans appear a bit blurry even if I rack it up to 19200 and use 48-bit!! The scans are very indistinct and blurry in a strange way. Doesn't matter what resolution I use. I checked the scans compared to a lab scan and it's like night and day at every resolution.

BTW the silverfast twain driver is rock solid installed first time no sweat.

I gather there were similar driver issues with the 8400f and they had the same problems with the driver. Looks like they didn't learn from their experience. Shame my view of Canon has dropped considerably.

The ugly: (sorry just had to go with it)