Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Misc Forums > Image & Film Scanners

Old Apr 26, 2008, 11:07 AM   #1

I've been using an Epson Perfection 1660 Photo scanner for 5 years now, but very recently the image quality seems fuzzy and some static appears too.
So it's time for something newer.

I'm having a hard time finding any information on how fast any of the newer scanners, scan.
  • Canon has nothing.[/*]
  • HP occasionally gives a preview scanning time... whoop-de-do.[/*]
  • Epson gives MSEC/line, but the 1660 rates as much-much faster than any Epson scanner makes today, some 5 years later... ?![/*]
So I'm looking for a flatbed scanner that can scan quickly, and can do good photo scans.

I'd like to be able to can scan objects too as the Epson 1660 can, (unlike the Brother DCP-7020), but it's not necessary.
Here's an example of a 1660 scan that shows
the objects (3D depth):

Currently I can scan an 8x10 photo @ 800 dpi in about 2 minutes (I'd like something similar or faster).
I also scan the occasional Negatives; I don't know the speed (it's slow).
I was looking in the $250 (Canadian) price range (take or give a little) and had been considering several Epson flatbed scanners.

But what to choose???

Let me know about your new scanner's speed and quality.

JH2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 27, 2008, 5:31 PM   #2

This isn't an answer to your question, JH2007, just a few comments.

Do you use the defalt scanning software that came with your scanner? If so, maybe you should look at independent software? Many users claim that programs like Viewscan and Silverfast make their old scanner perform better -- so much better that they decide against getting new equipment. I think that Silverfast is pretty pricey, but I think that Viewscan is around $50.00.

One reason that you might find it hard to find speed ratings on scanners is that the scanner performance depends largely on the type of hardware used in the computer on which it's installed.