Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Misc Forums > Image & Film Scanners

Old Jan 11, 2005, 9:20 PM   #1

I've been researching film scanners todigitize you collection of 35mm negtives and slides. After looking at many different brands and types (film or flatbed) and decided to go for a Nikon Coolscan series film scanner. Question is which one? Input from anyone familiar with the different models is much appreciated!

I'm not a pro, just looking for the best value/quality option available. Based on the info on the Nikon website, it appears that the Coolscan V and Supercool Scan 4000 are almost identical in performance specs. It seems as though the biggest differences between the 2 are the type interface with the V using USB and the 4000 needing a card, the 4000 being able to usea 50 slide autofeed and, the 4000 having ICE^3 and the V having ICE^4. Accordingto theNikon website the bit count and scan speed are identical for the 2. Price wise there's a significant difference (to me at least) and maybe the 4000is discontinued? The 4000 appears to be the model scanner all others have been compared to for the last fewyears. But perhaps like the Coolscan IV thatreplaced the LS-2000, the apparent previous benchmark model, the newerV is superior to the4000 performance wise?

Going from the V to the 5000, the specification difference appear subtle, 16 bits for the 5000 and 14 for the V, the 5000 a bit quickerand compatible with the slide autofeeder. The 5000 has a higher density ratio, and they both have ICE^4. THe 5000 costs about twice as much as the V though.

It appears to me the Coolscan V ED is the best balance of value and performance, am I wrong?

BigEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 24, 2005, 11:44 AM   #2

I can give you some information on the 5000, since I got one recently.