Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Misc Forums > Image & Film Scanners

Old Apr 17, 2006, 6:29 PM   #1

Can someone recommend an excellent quality flatbed scanner for $100-$350? I will mainly be using it to scan color photographs but would also like the capability of scanning negatives and slides. I am a professional graphic designer using Photoshop CS2 on a Windows XP platform.

All suggestions and recommendations are greatly appreciated!
jamnau is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 18, 2006, 1:19 PM   #2

For that price, the Epson 4490 will do a terrific job. It runs between $200-250 at most places. 4800dpi capability, Digital ICE, slide and film adapters. Also, Microtek and Canon make some great scanner's that fit within you're budget as well. Best of luck!

Cheers!
SlapNTickleJr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2006, 9:37 PM   #3

Check out the Canon 9950 F. It has similar capabilities to the Epson 4490.

Grant
granthagen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2006, 9:55 PM   #4

Thanks for your suggestions. I have narrowed it down to three scanners. Epson 4990, Canon 9950 or the HP 4890.

Any thoughts?
jamnau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2006, 7:54 PM   #5

It's just about a toss-up between the Epson and Canon. In comparison, about the only thing that the HP has going for it is the price. This comment pretty much sums up what I've read about the HP:

Although sturdy and stylish, the Scanjet 4890's main selling point is the speed of delivery, but its less-than-impressive image quality and so-so software won't elevate it above the competition.

Here are a few excerpts from reviews comparing the Epson and Canon: