Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Misc Forums > Image & Film Scanners

Old Jul 10, 2006, 9:28 AM   #1

I'm about to start the mammoth task of digitizing my collection of 11,000 35mm slides with a Nikon Supercoolscan 5000ED and SF210 Slide Feeder - fortunately the slides are all in plastic mounts so hopefully the feeder will behave!?

As I'm relatively new to scanning I'd appreciate any advice on the best general purpose settings to get high quality, detailed, clean scans for archive purposes, printing, web publishing, etc.

To make the most of my images I intend to scan at full 4000 dpi resolution despite the enormous storage implications. I will probably set ICE to "On Normal", but what about ROC, GEM, DEE and other features? What settings should I use considering that they will blindly get applied to every slide I scan?

Any advice from anyone experienced with batch scanning with this setup would be greatly appreciated.

PS Once completed I need to recoup some of my costs by selling the scanner, so this is a one shot affair!
pdannatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 23, 2006, 2:00 AM   #2

Well I've had the Nikon 5000ED scanner just over a week now and have dived straight in and scanned over 1300 slides already using the SF210 Slide Feeder - just 10,000 to go!

Results have generally been excellent. I've used the following settings for all my scans and things seem to be working pretty well with clean consistent results.

I'm not a scanning expert and have had little time with this scanner despite the number of scans so far, so would welcome any further suggestions

ICE: ON - Normal - huge time saving from this. Even if the slide is dusty it removes most of the need for touching up later.

ROC: OFF - None of my slides need color restoration and it did weird things to the colors of some slides.