Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Ink Jet - Inks, Papers, etc.

Old Feb 11, 2004, 2:11 PM   #1

Default need input on art show submission paper

First off, I'm an amateur photographer and artist with a very limited budget. My camera is a Canon A70 and my printer is an Epson 785EPX. There's a local art show that'll be in my area and I'd like to participate.

My question is what kind of paper should I use? My 785EPX will give 2880dpi on glossy paper, but only 1440dpi on matte paper. My art show entries will be matted and framed, and hopefully sell a couple. So lightfastness is something my prints would need, but I read that glossy papers are best for framing.

Or another option is to use the Xerox DocuColor12 laser printer/copier that's at work instead of my Epson.

Thank you.
phoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 11, 2004, 2:52 PM   #2

You could give the new kodak ultra papers a try, they only seem to come in high gloss and semi gloss finishes but are supposed to be very good for long print life. (or so it is claimed by kodak )
PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2004, 4:20 PM   #3

Thank you for the suggestion. I would never have considered Kodak paper. Today I was printing on Epson PremiereArt Matte Scrapbook Photo Paper, but I wasnt satisfied with the 1440dpi output.

On a different subject...how do laser prints differ from inkjet as far as lightfastness and quality goes?
Old Feb 11, 2004, 6:41 PM   #4

Depends on what you mean by a laser printer

Shop laser printers like the cymbolic science or even the noritsu used by costco are writing on Fuji Cristal Archive photo paper.
This is a real chemical color photo paper with a very long life for chemical prints of over 60 years. Most color chemical prints have a life of less than 28 years. (note I keep saying color, B&W prints done right can last in the hundreds of years)