Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Ink Jet - Inks, Papers, etc.

Old Jun 25, 2006, 7:34 PM   #1

Hey There,
Currently using a IP5200 and considering going to "refilling" path. This is my first time and ive got a few questions which i hope can be answered. I am from Australia and it costs ~A$120 for a full replcament, only $20 less then a new printer!!! INSANE I KNOW!

1) Which Brands do you guys reccomend? And which are "crappy" and should be avoided? (links are appreciated)

2) What are the risks involved besides voiding the warranty? Whats all this printhead stuff up i hear about, relating to using non-geniune inks? Ive read all these lockup issues but am very confused and now worried if i should go down the refill path.

3) After ive sucessfully refilled my tanks for the first time, would the logical thing to do is keep the levels up (maybe not below half way)?

4) Will refilling ink into my OEM carts work "forever". Is there a limit on how many times a cart can be filled (if yes, why?) If i keep my ink levels up, does that mean i can print and printer without any problems?

cheers!
mysticf1re is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 25, 2006, 8:22 PM   #2

To mysticflre,

Because I am thankly blessed with two unchipped Canons, I have yet to be forced to buy a chipped one--so I will leave the added adventure of over riding the chip to others--but once you get past the nag screens, the chipped Canons can be refilled as easily as a non-chipped one.--and equally economical to boot--translation is huge savings--something like 15x over OEM cartridges.

In terms of suppliers, that is often a funtion of location--with us yanks often having better market access than many others---many good suppliers just don't export---but one forum that is good in that area is the "nifty stuff forums"--just google the name without the quotes. So for local suppliers--you likely need to find someone in Australia more knowlegable.