Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Old Nov 6, 2007, 7:46 AM   #1

One of the reasons I purchased this camera was to take Quality shots of coins for sale on Ebay. I found the directions brochure to be quite lacking in directions suggestions and trouble shooting. My problem at present: Two examples took picture of silver coin on grey background background came out blue coin bluish, room lighting is flourescent bulbs. Next: Picture of Silver coin with regular lighting (different room)and silver coin has appearance of being a gold coin with tan background. It seems the camera is automatically changing background color and is hypersensitive to lighting colors or picking up color being radiated from the room for example a room with a lot of natural wood. I'm sure there is a solution not sure what and I am an amateur at this. So rather than blaming the camera I feel it is the user that needs some help. Any suggestions! Thanks :?
Attached Images
mike7075 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 6, 2007, 9:22 AM   #2

I only see one image in your post, and the EXIF has been stripped out by the editor you used to downsize the image (so, we can't see the camera settings being used).

You've probably got multiple issues....

For one thing, your Exposure is probably off, likely due to reflections from your light source on the coin fooling the metering. I'm seeing some areas of blown highlights now from reflections on the coin.

You'll want to use a more diffused light source.

Here is one commercial solution (and check your kitchen for tupperware type containers and you may be able to make your own):

Then, tweak your exposure as needed. If you want to use non-manual modes, just use Exposure Compensation. A +EV setting will give you a brighter exposure and a -EV setting will give you a darker exposure.