Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Old Apr 9, 2004, 6:07 AM   #1
Default Have you needed a second battery with you DX6490 ??

i am new in the forum and i am thinking about getting a DX6490 but i have some questions to this camera owners.

Is the propietary battery really good? Its a lithium-ion type, like in mobiles. I have some bad experiences with battery mobiles so i don't want to fall in the same error again.
1.- How much it lasts?? (time/photos).
2.- Have you needed to but a second battery? How much did it cost? And where did u buy it?

I have read in many places about the excessive compressión (jpg algorithm) but i hope the make a revision of the firmware.

Thanks very much
jiuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 9, 2004, 8:01 AM   #2

Battery lasts around 300 + pictures with flash. My record is 900 pictures (no flash continuous shooting). Typically for me I use an external flash and get about 500 shots before swapping batteries. If you are on a trip with a lot of on/off cycles it will be around 300 pictures.

The complaints about excessive compression are done by the people that don't own one. It's no worse (or better) than most of the other cameras on the market. I own an OPTIO 550 which is known for the opposite problem (too little compression) and the quality of the Kodak is as good or better than it. I've seen the same effects on the JPGs from D Rebels.

If you want a camera with RAW/TIFF mode (the only way to really improve it) then I would look for another camera I would not hold my breath for the Kodak firmware to be updated. Me, I just shoot it the way it is and enjoy it I've currently shot 10930 pictures with it.

I bought my battery (a real Kodak one) at the local Circuit City. They are also available through Amazon.com. It costs about $25.
CastleDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2004, 8:08 AM   #3