Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Old Feb 7, 2005, 6:52 PM   #1

I've posted this in the what camera should I buy section, but since I'm most interested in a Kodak I thought I'd post it here too.

I've been thinking for some time about getting a digital camera and started looking a couple weeks ago. I'm a novice with very little digi cam exp. From time to time I've thought about photography a hobby and I'm certian I would enjoy it. The problem is what camera do I start out with? For what ever reason I've been most interested in the Kodaks. I began looking at $200 ones and they looked decent, 4Mp and 4X optical. I believe it was a dx7440. Then I saw the 7630 (6MP, 3X) for about $325. I then stopped in a camera shop and the owner suggested higher zoom. His reasoning was since I have young children, I would want the zoom as they become involved in various activities (gymnastics and such). So that got me thinking about the 7590 (5Mp, 10X). At about $400 with mail in rebate that is a little more than I wanted to spend. So then I started reading in this forum and someone had wrote that 10X zoom is about worthless without an image stabilizer (the 7590 doesn't have one from what I gathered).

I seems several here recommend the Panasonic fz 15 or 20. It looks like a great camera but man thats a lot of cash for a small hobby. Yes, quality photos of the youngins will be priceless years from now but I cant see spending quite that much.

I guess I'm asking what others think about the necessity of an image stabilizer for a 10X camera. I could use a tripod at times but would be inconvient at other times. Does the ability to significantly crop a 6Mp pic kinda "make up" for having less zoom?

What do some of you think about just going with a 4Mp, 4X camera? I know I've read here that one should buy the best that they can reasonably afford. But would this type camera be satisfactory?