Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Old Mar 11, 2005, 7:54 AM   #1

I've been using the camera for a couple of months trying as many of the different controls as possible in order to determine what works best. I think it is always better to try yourself first before asking for help. The manual is simply a statement of what the controls do (fair enough) rather giving guidance on what works best for different situations. Two situations seem to cause me most problems.

First outdoor photographs with the nearest objects at least 100 yards away (ie not close ups of people) when the conditions are dull and cloudy. The images seem to lack clarity and are often dark. When using exposure compensation it is very difficult to judge what the right amount is. I do not have camera set on continuous focus. When I press the shutter button halfway down there is often a change in brightness in screen image when green light shows which I assumed was a result of the exposure compensation. I thought that this would mean that when the picture was taken the review would look exactly the same as seen on screen but often it is still darker. I know you can use exposure bracketing etc but this quickly fills cards and having to sort out images is tedious. Am I misunderstanding the effects that I am seeing? I resort to using exposure adjustment in the Easyshare software but the exposure compensation in the camera appears to use an increased shutter speed rather that software to lighten the image.