Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Old Oct 10, 2005, 7:45 AM   #1

Well the camera arrived today faster than I expected.
I love it! The 1gb card (adata myflash) I bought seems to work fine in it, and it takes nice photos, although I am still learning it!

Bit disapointed though as for a factory refurb, as new, perfect condition with warranty it has a few problems...

The lens has a tiny scratch on it... This cant be normal for a refurb "new" camera surely??
The warranty cards are for the USA, no mention of UK
The power supply is a 2 pin usa type, not a 3 pin uk type..
The camera itself looks "almost" new, but is obviously used, and you can see that from the tiny scratches on the case in some places.
The custom insert for the dx6490 is missing, just the standard one is supplied by the looks of it (the one in the manual appears to be moulded to fit the camera, the one on the dock seems to be the "flat" standard one illustrated in the manual..

I have emailed the seller to see if they can do something, maybe send out a replacement and then when it arrives I can stop using this one and send it back......

Anyone else had problems with refurbs not being upto scratch?

Overall though, its a lovely camera
kensplace is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 10, 2005, 8:31 AM   #2

Fora refurb from Kodak, I wouldn't put up with a scratched lens. Body scratches, yes.

Clearly, the charger plug and the warranty should be for your area in the world.

Sorry to say, if this is a "refurb" from ebay or a hole-in-the-wall drop ship place, there's no guarantee whether it's a refurb, used camera, store demo, or other, less savory critter.
DGehman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2005, 10:56 AM   #3

I agree with Dave. If it is from Kodak, there should be no lens scratch. I'd be looking for my money back if it shows up on the photos.

bigdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2005, 1:30 PM   #4