Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Kodak

Old Jul 22, 2006, 7:45 PM   #1

[align=center]So today we went to the zoo. I took over 300 photos which is normal for me anytime I go there, lol. Anyways, I tried taking photos in the penguin house, reptile house and the sealions, etc, all which are behind glass and I'm not very happy with any of my results. I tried the auto mode and too much flash, turned the flash off and it was too dark. Tried another setting and it was way too blurry. If I try lightening the dark photos, they are way too pixelated. Arg! Very frustrating! [/align]
[align=center]So what can I do to get decent shots behind glass? They don't need to be top notch, just good enough to where, if someone is looking at them, they don't wonder what in the world I took a photo of! LOL [/align]
Niki [/align]
scrappynik is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 23, 2006, 2:54 AM   #2

I'm new to this, so i don't know myself, but i think i would try taking photos without the flash and use manual focus to try and get the pictures sharp. I would then use Photoshop Elements 4 to brighten up the photos for me. Try just hitting the auto smart fix button.

I took some shots of my wifes flowers at night and got better results without the flash using Elements 4 than i did with the flash.
12noon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2006, 8:27 AM   #3

If your only problem is the flash coming back at you off the glass you should avoid shooting head on into the glass. Shoot at a angle so the flash bounces off the glass at the same angle but away from you and still lights the area beyond the glass.

I have done this often at aquariums prior to going digital and the results look like I was under water with a housing for my camera.

I am surprised your auto focus is not giving you a problem the glass surface.

bill2468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2006, 11:26 AM   #4