Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Konica Minolta

Old May 28, 2004, 12:05 AM   #1

I have been considering buying a new camera with substantial zoom for outdoor shots or for events where you may not be next to the subject. However, I would be using this camera as a general purpose camera as well, so it should be able to take good indoor, close shots as well. These two cameras (Z2 and S1 SI) are extremely similar with few minor differences. I was wondering if anyone had any advice as to which would be better for me and what the advantages of one would be over the other. I do not think the 3.2 v 4 mega pixel difference would be important. However, some say there are problems with focus or image quality. I am not an expert so im not exactly up to speed on what they are going on about or how I would go about fixing it. Anyway, any advice would be much appreciated. Thank you very much,

billybob1863 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 28, 2004, 2:49 PM   #2

Hi Scott,

As a Canon S1 IS user I can only speak for my camera. It is a truly remarkable camera with great image quality and lots of features suchas:

- Image stabilization (IS) wich really helps when shooting in full tele mode (10x) without a tripod. ( I believe the Z2 doesn't have this feature)

- Ultra sonic motor which makes the zoom really fast and keeps noise away when shooting a movie.

- A really nice movie mode with 640*480 at 30 frames/second.

- Lots of manual features...

S1 is does not have a macro mode but you still can shoot quite nice macro photos. It takes great photos both indoors and (especially) outdoors.

Z2 is a 4mp camera but I think that 3mp is more than enough for an average user. But as always I recommend that you try them both out at a photo store to see which you like.

Andy Gail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2004, 9:33 PM   #3

Hi everyone,