Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Konica Minolta

Old Dec 14, 2004, 7:08 PM   #1

I just purchased this camera and most probably should have done a bit more research, as is usually the case in these after the fact scenarios!

I have been using an Olympus C-3000 Zoom for about 3 years and have had so-so results doing what I do with the camera 75% of the time, shooting sports indoors, primarily basketball in Gymnasiums.

I was attracted to the Z3 because of the large zoom and image stabilization. What I have encountered in my limited use of the camera are pictures that are essentially unuseable in that they are dark and VERY blurred. After doing some digging, I find that low light performance with the Z3 is pretty much a weak point. My limited use of the camera would leads me to agree with that assesment.

I totally understand that what I have purchased is essentially a point and shoot camera and I am using it in conditions that are tough ... action shots from 50 feet away in low light situations. My Olympus by comparison handles this chore much much better. If I take 150 shots in a game with the Olympus, I typically have 50 - 60 keepers, compared to no keepers with the Z3

So, understanding that I am a picture taker and not a photographer who has a very basic understanding of ISO settings, shutter speeds etc I could really use some advice to use as a starting point.

I do know that what I am doing is really tough because action shots require fast shutter speeds and low light requires longer shutter speeds so I am doing something that causes a conflict.