Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Konica Minolta

Old Nov 19, 2002, 10:46 AM   #1
Default Household Cavalry website needs help with Dimage 7i

Hi there, I am a total newbie to the concept of digital photograpy. Before this year, the last time I used a camera seriously was about 30 years ago! In those days I was using a Leica M3, a wide angle Rollieflex and a very early Pentax Spotmatic!

These days I am running a website for members of the Queen's Life Guard (The Household Cavalry Mounted Regiment) at http://www.hcmr-photos.org.uk. We have been providing up to date (and very amateur) digital images of the QLG.

For the first two months I was using a borrowed, conventional, compact camara (Nikon Lite Touch 70W Zoom) and scanning in the photographs. Now we have a new Minolta Dimage 7i and I have been learning how to use it this week.

Could any please point me in the right direction to find a decent tutorial on how to use this excellent camera, or offer any advice on the results so far. I especially need help on the longer shots and how to get the best focus and sharpness. I use Photoshop 7 to prepare the images for the website
amcbryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 19, 2002, 11:19 AM   #2

There has been a lot on getting sharp focus in recent posts. I suggest doing a search on "focus" and see if that is a help to you.
charlibob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2002, 11:26 AM   #3

The D7 series can be handled and operated like a complete manual classic camera, plus the WISIWYG ( what you see is what you get) feature in manual.
Learn to master it’s auto-focus behavior ( wide area, spot, flex ,manual focus modes ) and the numerous settings (color,ISO, …etc) and you will be amazed by it’s power.
In case of panic, press “Panic P ” button , it will revert to default auto-focus/exposure …

Live (real time) histogram is also an digicam exclusive helpful feature.