Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Konica Minolta

Old Nov 25, 2002, 12:23 PM   #1
Default Dimage 7i vs Canon G3.... Which one should I buy?

Thanks in advance for all who read and respond to this inquiry.

I need a digi camera for bonding work and to post pics of items for sale on the web. Also intend to take pics of the kids and probably some vacation shooting. I'm a novice whose experience is limited to some 35 mm shooting with a Nikon 6006 years back. This will be my first digi camera.

Haven't handled the D7i yet. Portability is an issue but not high on the list. Ease of use for quick portrait shots indoors (spelled J-A-I-L) for bonding and indoor pics of items to post for sale tops the list.

Battery life, quality pics, easy downloading, portability round out the needs.

Thanks again for reading and offering a novice some useful guidance.
G Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 25, 2002, 10:49 PM   #2

Go to a camera store that has both and try them out. Hands on is usually the best way to tell. I have the D7Hi so i opted for the minolta.
rikster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2002, 11:15 AM   #3

I am an ex-5700 user, so I don't know if my opinion is valid or not But I had some time to play around with 7Hi, and its feel and control are pretty similar to SLR camera. I love the manual focus and zoom ring, something that I miss on Nikon 5700.

I believe G3 and 7Hi are both capable of taking great image. But if it's about total control over the camera, I'd say get 7Hi. But it's all up to you, test both cameras at the store, before making buying decision.
gared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2002, 11:43 AM   #4

Thanks Gared,