Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Landscape Photos

Old Sep 23, 2010, 12:56 PM   #1

Default Downtown Finance Dist - Night

Here's a shot before and after editing of the NYC Downtown skyline. Please provide some feedback. I'm new to this and really could use any advice possible.

Thanks!

ps - can anyone tell me why I'm getting reflections in the sky? Seems like in a few of my shots I have "upside down reflections" of the lights in the city. This happened a few times during my night shots in Times Square, 5th Ave, and the skyline shots.
Attached Images

Nighthawk06si is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 23, 2010, 7:40 PM   #2

the shots are very noise and there seems to be allot of camera shake.

The reflection in the sky can be cause by a UV filter if you are using one, as ghosting is a bad side effect with using them. Especially not multi coated ones.

What camera and what settings were you using, the exif data is strip out of the photos.

To take a good night shot like you want of all those lights, a tripod will be a major help with longer exposure at low iso.

Last edited by shoturtle; Sep 24, 2010 at 1:51 AM.
shoturtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2010, 7:45 PM   #3
spy

Welcome Nighthawk06si to the forum and hope you get the answers that will help you with this problem. Would you please inform us as to what your shooting with and the settings for this shot.

Does this very same mark appear on all your night shots or does it only show up when shooting similar scenes with lights? Can you post another photo where it's appeared again in another shot?