Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Landscape Photos

Old Sep 30, 2004, 11:50 PM   #1

hey all!

Thanks for taking a look at my picture. Any replies are more than welcome. I just got the canon s500. I'm new to picture taking. Any feedback on the picture would be great. The pic was taken on the max resolution and size settings without the flash. I used the MS windows XP power tweak to resize it so thatI could post it here. I would love to learn more about taking great pics!

thanks!

-Toliv:-)
Attached Images

toliv is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 1, 2004, 4:44 AM   #2

welcome, not a bad shot for first go. Nice shot.:-)
aladyforty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2004, 2:46 PM   #3

Welcome to the forum. Nice to have you.

Very nice colors. I like it. Thanks for sharing.

Just a little work of advise, when using the XP tweak for resizing. Resize down to 640x480. This will help out those using dial-up a bit. Plus user's with a smaller screen resolution will not have to scroll as much.

Nice shot though.:|

--------
Ryan
RyanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2004, 1:36 PM   #4

Thanks! I'll post 640x480 next time.Whats a good book to read? How can I take better pictures?
toliv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2004, 3:56 PM   #5

Toliv

One piece of advice I'll offer is to try to avoid placing the horizon of your picture in the center of the shot. Using the scroll bar, I mentally cropped off the lower 1/3 of the shot and it's a very effective composition to my eyes. I like the subdued colors and overall atmosphere of the shot. Keep posting!
ohenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2004, 4:31 PM   #6

ohenry wrote:
Quote:
Toliv