Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Landscape Photos

Old Dec 4, 2005, 10:22 AM   #1

Best advice on staying warm in winter when in a group, is to huddle...
Clip is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 4, 2005, 11:43 AM   #2

I notice in your description you're using Sony's new R1. I haven't seen a finished review of that one yet, but I know this is an eagerly antisipated release, so basically, what do you think (so far)?

Oh, and it's a good picture too :-)

Regards, John.
John Maddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2005, 8:51 PM   #3

John asked "what do you think (so far)?"

The camera I had before was aCanon G2 that I have been using for the last 4 years, given that..... The Sony DSC-R1 can do nearly everything thatthe G2did but better (that is to be expected), except the view finder on top requires me to hold the camera upside down when photographing with the cameraoverhead.

I use the Canon Pro 1 at work and found the Sony far superior. The lenses and pixel # size has so far created better photos by far.I like the positions of the camera controls, and find what I use to be intunitive, andhaven't needed the manual after day 3.

I may be slanted with Carl Zeiss lenses since I own Rollie SLR film cameras (35 years old)that I still use with film since after spending thousands on Nikon, Canon and Minoltacameras and lenses (ended up selling them)I have yet found comparible quality in image from others, though the Rollie shutters are on their last legs.

The camera is more bulky than I would like, but I don't mind that after seeing how it performs and still have the G2 for carrying in the pocket.

The manual focus adjustments I really like, and are really very good since it uses a LCD screen output which could make this difficult.

The red range finder light at night scares the dogs though.

Worked today at -25 C temperatures (-35 C winchill)and battery consumptionis good (cold really kills them).