Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Sep 17, 2010, 12:09 PM   #1
Default Best SD Card Speed for Canon SX30

I have been using a Konica-Minolta Z-6 for several years and the speed of the SD card wasn't very important. However, I have ordered one of the new SX30s and I need to purchase larger capacity cards. However, the biggest question I have is: How fast should the cards I buy be so I don't slow the camera down?

I realize there is no black & white answer, but I would appreciate any advice you can spare.

Thanks in advnace.

The Artful Dodger is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 18, 2010, 4:54 AM   #2

I'd like to know, too. I'm also about to pull the trigger on this new camera...love the specs.
drphil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2010, 1:01 PM   #3

If you are shooting HD video a lot with this camera, the best choice for the SD card is a class 10 card which doesn't cost too much more than a class 4 or class 6. As far as capacity is concerned, bigger the better. Right now, the holidays are coming (Thanksgiving and Christmas), there should be a lot of sales where you can pick up SD cards pretty cheap. In fact, I just picked up a 8gb SDHC by PQI for $7.67 shipped with a $5 coupon code. 16gb card by Patriot is about $20 online.
WCKSer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2010, 12:11 AM   #4

i agree with WCKSer......since that camera is capable of HD video id definatley get a class 10 card...anything lower will not be able to keep up with the camera during filming.... i am 90% positive im getting this camera.......and ill be using a sandisk sdhc class 10 16gb mainly cause the 32gb is A LOT OF $$$ right now....