Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Oct 26, 2012, 8:37 AM   #1

Default Record Light On, TC Rolling, but no data on card?

Hello my name is Patrick, I work as a videographer for a litigation support company which does videotaped depositions, trials, etc. We use a variety of hd cameras and sd card makes (PNY, SanDisk, etc.). While recording in the field to the SD card we record a backup DVD as well.

A couple of weeks ago I was on a routine job, started the deposition, record light on, time code rolling, sd card activity light flashing, etc. for the entire depo. We typically don't check the cards after returning to the office, just the master DVDs. But a couple of weeks later we were required to pull the job from the shelf and use the card data to do some edits - but there was no data on the card, not even a folder structure. The card was a PNY 16gb SDHC. The camera was a Panasonic HMC40. This problem has not occurred in the last 2 1/2 years here so I was wondering if anyone knows of any problems such as this with the PNY cards losing data, being corrupted or not recording media properly.

Any help and/or feedback is greatly appreciated!
novastel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 26, 2012, 4:46 PM   #2

G'day Patrick

Q- do your cameras have both 'internal' and 'external' memory for recording purposes?
External will be the memory card, internal is used for a variety of things, buffers etc

-if- on the date in question, the camera's menu was set for internal memory use, you might find the images still in the camera, sitting there, sleeping gently ...

Regards, Phil
Ozzie_Traveller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 6:19 PM   #3

Memory cards wear out, some brands last longer than others, and there's no way beforehand to know when a card will fail.

If I were you, I'd stick to SanDisk or Lexar.
  • If you're going to use a filter, make it a good one.