Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Oct 22, 2004, 9:33 AM   #1

Hellothere, and hello Steve!

I live in Europe and I just bought the new Canon Ixus 40 (also called SD300). I have a friend working in USA (IDAHO) who offering me to buy a SD card there (40% cheaper in USA!!).

So, I'm lookinga 1 GB SD card. As I will record some videos, I need a fast one and also with low power consumption. I'm ready tospend 100-130USD.

Can you help me to choose? Thanks

I'm considering the following cards: (what's your opinion?)

Lexar 1GB 32x Secure Digital (SD) Card
Model SD1GB32231

KINGMAX 1GB Platinum 60X Secure Digital Card
Model SDC-001G3

Dane-Elec 1GB Secure Digital Card
Model DA-SD1024-R

gameboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 22, 2004, 10:45 AM   #2

I have little experience with SD cards but as I recall SanDisk makes the fastest SD cards around. Lexar generally makes a quality product, so I would expect it to be as fast as they claim.

I would bet that 32x is fast enough for recording movies.

eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2004, 1:11 PM   #3

Thank for your advise!

I found the SanDisk 1GB SD Card Ultra II at 117 EURO (147 USD) at the following webshop... and this is the lowest price in Europe.You have better prices inUSA !

gameboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2004, 9:32 PM   #4

Hey. I have a SD300 and Kingmax Platinum 1g sd. I love the kingmax platinum although I have only had it for 1 day so far. It is thinner than standard so it originally didnt appear to fit in the sd slot. Once I tried again, it went in perfectly.