Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Memory Cards, Microdrives, Card Readers

Old Jul 13, 2006, 12:22 PM   #1

Could anyone out there help me decide which card would meet my needs?

I am an advanced amateur photographer and in the past have been frustrated with (1) my camera not responding quickly enough for a next shot

(2) running out of memory -

I am trying to compare these SD cards to see if they will meet my needs. I ALWAYS shoot on the highest image size and resolution setting (you never know which shot you'll want to enlarge later!!). I used to have a 5MP camera and used a 1GB card which was fine, but I just recently bought the Canon A700 which is 6MP so I don't know how much more memory that will eat up . . .

What I'd like to know is this:

First - How many pictures would I approximatelybe able to fit on a 1GB card for a 6meg camera at best settings? How many would fit on a 2GB card?

Second - Will I really notice the speed differencebetween still shots (video is only for fun) on a 20 MB/sec card vs. 9MB/sec write speed? I read a review on cnet that says that speed is only noticeable for advanced cameras and SLRs . . . is that true?

Here are the cards I am comparing:

Sandisk 1GB Ultra II Plus - writes 9mb/sec has USB feature which is nice - $54.99
Sandisk 2GB Ultra II Plus - writes 9mb/sec has USB feature - $134.99
Sandisk 2GBExtreme III - writes 20mb/sec - no USB feature - $89.99

So far the 1GB card has decent price and the nice USB feature, I am just worried that itwill lag and cut me short onmemory -

Any advice out there???????????

r1180m is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 13, 2006, 2:02 PM   #2

2816 x 2112 JPEG Super Fine Approx 2500kb file , around 361 on a 1gig card (camera estimation)

Size is only approx because as Dpreview say

As is the case with JPEG it's difficult to predict the size of an image because it will vary a fair amount depending on the content of the image (detail and noise).

FromDpreview also