Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Misc Accessories

Old Dec 4, 2003, 4:09 AM   #1
Default Monopod Recommendations

Hi all,
Looking for monopod recommendations. Probably never use anything bigger than a 300mm, currently have a 70-200VR.

What features should I be looking for?
What is a good brand to buy?
What should I expect to spend?
What differentiates one monopod from another?

I'm not a professional, but I am looking for good quality, just don't need top shelf.....

eriseman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 23, 2003, 6:45 PM   #2

Make sure the monopod can get up to your eye.

Look for releases that are easy to move quickly but stay once they're set.

Besides that...meh. I don't know. I want one of these too.
Red Viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2003, 6:16 PM   #3

I'll suggest the Manfrotto 679 and the Manfrotto monopod head with QR. These convert to some Bogen number - I can't find the conversions however - little help somebody?

The pod is tall enough for me (i'm 6'2") even leaning back a bit.

You'll want a head that swivels back a bit so you can shoot level while the monopod itself is leaning towards you. This is much more stable than straight up and down.

I'll think that your lens would attach to the monopod through a collar of some sort that will rotate for portrait shots. My 70-210 Tamron does this.

Currently I use a Manfrotto medium ballhead but it's a little heavy and you don't need the full range of movement on a monopod that it provides.

The cost of the 679 is pretty cheap - it uses the heavier leg set of the manfrotto/bogen tripod. I got mine for ~$50 Canadian. The monopod head is about $45 Canadian.

All my tripod heads use the manfrotto small rectangular QR plate so I want to keep to that system. I can't afford to go to the large (and expensive) Arca system nor the hex plates of other heads. I don't need that much control and I'd rather keep my kit lighter so I take it more often.