Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Nature Shooting Techniques

Old Jan 25, 2005, 6:31 AM   #1

Hi

I am going to Alaska in June on my Honeymoon (I live in Scotland so I am used to cold weather) and we are renting an RV and spending 2 weeks touring. Although my Bride to be loves scenery I am very keen on wildlife.

I have a Konica Minolta Z3 & a Casio Ex-Z55 but not much experience in shooting wildlife andI would like to get the best images possible, any advice, tips or tricks would be great.

ps I am still relatively new at photgraphy and still learning whatshutter speeds& ISO etc... actually do and how to use them efficiently

Cheers
scotty72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 25, 2005, 7:55 AM   #2

I have found shooting wildlife requires shooting many times at full zoom. If you are going to be shooting without a tripod, I recommend using a shutter speed of at least 1/200 if you have image stabilization. If not, then you want to have it 1/what ever focul length you are using (ie. 1/300 at 300mm equivalent). Depending on how bright it is outside, this may require you to set your iso to 100 or 200. If you get some noise, software can remove it pretty well.

One other thing I am finding helpful, is to us the smallest aperature possible (higher aperature number ie. F8) in order to get the most depth of field possible to ensure the desired object is in complete focus. Some times at F2.8, depending on how close you are, you only get part of what you are shooting in focus. Of course, this too, is limited by how much light is available.

I guess it is a good idea to pray for sunny to partly sunny days as having enough light can make all the difference in the world how the shots come out (especially when you have very limited iso options).

Have fun.
bmullen@comcast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2005, 8:47 AM   #3

Oh, my. This is could be a very long answer.