Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Misc Forums > New Technology

Old Oct 23, 2005, 8:56 PM   #1

My 5 year old computer monitor is packing up and needs replacing. Forgetting about it being flat vs bulky, what advantage if any does a CRT still have over an LCD for photo viewing and editing (a 19" CRT costs about the same as a 17" LCD). I am not a pro - just a keen amatuer like most here I suspect?

Bill
bilzmale is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 24, 2005, 1:46 PM   #2

Well, I heard that a CRT has more accurate color rendition.

As for myself, I use a Samsung 17 inch LCD with 700:1 contrast, 300 brightness, and 8ms response.

Recently I bought a Samsung 19 inch LCD for about $340 which is magnificent, same spec as the 17inch.

The advantage of an LCD is less eye fatique. I really noticed after working all day with an LCD how little eyestrain I experienced in comparison to the CRT. That should be the deal breaker for you.

Also, the CRT takes up a huge amount of desk real estate. My prediction is that most CRT's are going to end up at the town dump, for free give away.

If you buy an LCD, get one with a DVI port. Using a DVI connection improves the quality of the LCD output, especially for printed text.

-- Terry

terry@softreq.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2006, 12:05 AM   #3

Hi Bill,

Terry nailed it for you, but I'll just add one thing -----Less Electricity :-). I also have a Samsung 17" LCD monitor, as well as a 17" CRT monitor that I will use - on occasion - with my dual display apps (until I can afford another LCD unit). But my firm choice is (and will always be) the LCD type.
NLAlston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2006, 2:11 AM   #4
E.T

Differences in image quality between different models can vary huge amount so you should test screen before buying it. (or TFT of same model)

Their design causes some disadvantages.