Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Dec 27, 2006, 5:50 AM   #1

I'm new to these settings on cameras, having only really used point and shoots before. What is ISO? I have a sony DCS-T10 and it seems to have a great effect on the image. Can someone give me an overview of what it does, and what situations different settings are used for? My main use is family photography, not scenery or portraits. Just chasing the kids around, inside and out.

zekmoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 27, 2006, 6:33 AM   #2

For all practical purposes, the ISO level represents how sensitive the sensor in the camera is to the light hitting it. As the ISO number goes up, the camera is more sensitive too light - so it is able to capture an image much faster than with a low ISO setting. The trade-off is the digital noise - as you bump up the ISO you'll see more noise in the image.

As for what practical purpose it serves, here's a brief write-up I just sent to a friend (since it's a cut and paste, I apologize for references that seem out of place, but I didn't feel like typing all this info over again):

Here's a brief side discussion on EXPOSURE. Exposure is controlled by 3 components: aperture, ISO andd shutter speed.
Aperture refers to how big the 'iris' of the lens opens up and thus how much light gets in. Think of it like an eye. The wider it gets the more light it lets in.
Aperture is usually measured in 'stops' - the stop values are denoted by f-stop numbers and have these values:
1.0, 1.4, 2.0, 2.8, 4.0, 5.6, 8.0, 11, 16, 22