Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jul 12, 2003, 7:47 AM   #1
Default 1st Beginner/Advanced Camera?

Hi there,
I'm new to the world of digital photography, and to this forum.
To get straight to the point, I have been thinking about getting the Nikon Coolpix 2100, since it came out earlier this year.
The thing is, being a student, I am on a tight budget, and so I have to get my decision right.
In my eyes, the 2100 looks to be the safest bet to go with, I have read good reviews, seen good sample images etc.
But, I have heard of a few problems: battery cover being weak, battery problems. Are these true, or should they be a cause for concern.
Are there any other problems that I should know about?
I will use the camera for holidays, family stuff, and maybe some animals (fish), and countryside scenes (sunsets, hills, scenery etc.)
Is the 2100 good for this?
Any help would be much appreciated,
Thanks in advance,
caramelcord is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 12, 2003, 9:32 PM   #2

I have the 3100 which is the same as the 2100 except for the difference in pixels. This is an awesome little camera. I have not had any problems with the battery cover or the battery life. If I remember correctly, there are firmware upgrades that are supposed to take care of the battery problems.
I think you will love this little cam!! Good Luck
SSD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2003, 5:17 AM   #3

Thanks for the input.
Thinking about it last nght, I decided that I would be able to free up enough money to purchase a coolpix 885, because I like the idea of the manual options, should I (hopefully) get drawn into the photography hobby. I had a change of heart when I looked at the pictures that you guys had taken (particularly Kevin G's), I was inspired and thought about the amount of satisfaction I would get from taking such good pictures.