Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Apr 8, 2007, 1:22 AM   #1

Hey guys,

I hope this is a valid place for this post -- I considered the Nikon thread, but I thought that this might just be a problem due to my general photography ignorance.

I've been messing around with coding some chroma-key stuff at my job (I'm a physics grad student) which required me to do a bunch of research on lighting and playing with our SLR. It got me interested in figuring out this whole photography thing, so I asked for a Nikon Coolpix P4 for my birthday. Being a physics lab-rat, I don't generally get out very much, so I mainly wanted a semi-compact camera for indoors.

Unfortunately, it turns out that I've been taking some absolutely amazing outdoor shots, and some absolutely terrible indoor shots. After sitting down for a while and trying to figure out why my indoor shots look terrible, I started getting some results which made me fairly happy. See below.

[align=center] NOTE: If the image says "FORBIDDEN" or doesn't show up, just reload the page.

Here was my first shot

The colors looked all wrong and I thought it looked pretty bad, so I tried to edit the settings as much as I could. Unfortunately, I didn't save my config, but the EXIF data is present if anybody cares. I was happier with this one:

Another comparison: Same as before... fuzzy, washed out. Changed the settings...

New settings -- looked good (to my newbie eye, at least)

[/align][align=left] So I was happy with the results for the most part. Then the next day I had a party. This is where things got ugly. Unfortunately, a bunch of different people took these pictures. And some of them thought they'd change from my presets to automatic. Either way, everybody complained that the pictures were coming out blurry. I present evidence:

This picture was literally taken about 10 times before a semi-clear one came out.

She was barely moving here!