Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old May 8, 2007, 10:49 AM   #1

Hi everyone, I'm pretty new to the DSLR scene so hope my questions are not too dumb for anyone to answer.

I'm looking to purchase a filter but not sure what I should be getting. I'll be doing a lot of night shots so what would you guys/gals recommend or is it even not neccessary for a filter.

I'm using a UV filter that I got as a present and I use that for majority of my day shots would I find this filter useful for night shots?

All input would be greatly appreciated!! Cheers, and thanks in advance!!
mikey816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 8, 2007, 11:52 AM   #2

Filters fall into two categories:

1. Protection but no positive change in image quality (and possible image quality degradation)

2. Photographic affect - these change how a photo looks - a polarizer will deepen blues/greens and make clouds pop and reduce reflections, nuetral density filters allow you to expose 2 parts of an image differently, etc.

So, are you looking for special affects filters like a starburst (which can be used if there are lights in your night time images) or other things to experiment with?

By the way, the UV filter fits into category 1 - offers no real benefit other than lens protection - and that's a whole other topic. There are people that argue it won't really protect and actually downgrades image quality and there are those that swear that having a filter saved their front lens element.
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2007, 2:38 PM   #3