Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Oct 6, 2007, 10:52 AM   #1

Hi, I would like some lens advice. I had a Sony H2 which I loved. It took great shots and never failed me. I received a canon XT as a gift with the stock lens and can't believe that even on the auto settings, I can't get the same quality pic. I know the Sony has the Zeiss lens.

Can someone advise me as to what zoom lens I can get that will produce quality like my sony and with similar zoom capabilities?

I'd greatly appreciate it. I'm just learning all the numbers, conversions, etc., etc. and am taking a trip soon and want a lens prior.

PhotoMom444 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 6, 2007, 7:26 PM   #2

One of the great advantages of a dSLR like the Canon XT is that you can use any of a number of lenses, each of which will do the job better than the 'jack of all trades, master of none' lens in your H2.

That said, there is a fine lens from Tamron, the 18-250 f/3.5-6.3, that can turn your XT into an H2. But you might be better served by a few different lenses, each of which will do something better than the 18-250 or your H2. But in order for someone to help you there, you'll have to say what type of photos you want to take. (Landscape/Cityscape, Architectural, Portrait, Sports, Wildlife, etc.)

Also, can you post an example of a shot you took with the XT that you're not satisfied with?
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2007, 8:30 PM   #3

I'm not familiiar with either of the cameras you mention, which of course, makes me an expert.:-) I do have both types of camera, and have used a couple others, so I do know a bit about how they process images. DSLRs tend to use less in-camera processing at the default settings, so in order to get the kind of look you are used to, you may want to increase the settings for saturation and contrast. Probably best to do this one increment at a time until you get what you want.